6 Rhode Island towns vote ‘no’ for cannabis retail sales

This is a file image of marijuana at a dispensary. (Seth Wenig, AP)

BARRINGTON, R.I. (WLNE) — Rhode Island residents in 31 cities and towns voted Tuesday on whether or not to approve recreational marijuana sales.

Six towns rejected ballot measures for recreational marijuana sales, including Barrington, East Greenwich, Jamestown, Little Compton, Scituate, and Smithfield.

Cannabis retailers will now be banned in those communities.

In May, Gov. Dan McKee signed into law the Rhode Island Cannabis Act, making the state the 19th to legalize recreational adult-use cannabis.

Communities that approved cannabis retail sales, include: Bristol, Burrillville, Charlestown, Coventry, Cumberland, East Providence, Glocester, Hopkinton, Johnston, Lincoln, Middletown, Narragansett, New Shoreham, Newport, North Kingstown, North Providence, North Smithfield, Richmond, South Kingstown, Tiverton, Warren, West Greenwich, West Warwick, Westerly, and Woonsocket.

Recreational sales at existing medical marijuana dispensaries will start on Dec. 1.

Categories: News, Rhode Island