UPDATE: Additional aerial spraying for EEE announced for Bristol and Plymouth county

The Massachusetts Department of Health (DPH) and the Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources (MDAR) announced additional aerial spraying for mosquitos in areas of the state at critical and high risk for the EEE virus.

The MDAR is scheduled to conduct a new round of aerial spraying in Bristol and Plymouth counties beginning Tuesday, September 17 and continuing for a number of evenings after that. 

Communities scheduled to be sprayed, either partially or fully sprayed beginning Tuesday evening include: 

Bristol County: Acushnet, Attleboro, Berkley, Dartmouth, Dighton, Easton, Fairhaven, Freetown, Mansfield, New Bedford, Norton, Raynham, Rehoboth, Swansea, and Taunton.

Plymouth County:  Bridgewater, Brockton, Carver, East Bridgewater, Halifax, Hanson, Kingston, Lakeville, Marion, Mattapoisett, Middleborough, Pembroke, Plymouth, Plympton, Rochester, Rockland, Wareham, Whitman, and West Bridgewater

In a release sent out on Monday, officials from The DPH and MDAR are urging residents throughout the state to take personal precautions to prevent mosquito bites.

According to MDAR has been found in 414 Mosquito samples this year, many of them from species capable of spreading the virus to people. 


The Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources (MDAR) will continue aerial spraying Wednesday night and will continue for several evenings.

Wrentham is the latest town to be added to the list of areas where spraying will be conducted.

The list of communities are entirely within the spray zone, according to the Massachusetts Department of Health:

Middlesex County: Ashland, Framingham, Holliston, Hopkinton, Hudson, Marlborough, Maynard, Natick, Sherborn, Stow, Sudbury, Wayland

Norfolk County: Bellingham, Franklin, Medfield, Medway, Millis, Norfolk, Walpole

Worcester County: Auburn, Berlin, Blackstone, Boylston, Douglas, Grafton, Hopedale, Mendon, Milford, Millbury, Millville, Northborough, Northbridge, Oxford, Shrewsbury, Southborough, Sutton, Upton, Uxbridge, Webster, Westborough

The list of communities partially in the spray zone:

Middlesex County: Weston

Norfolk County: Dover, Foxborough, Needham, Norwood, Sharon, Wellesley, Westwood, Wrentham

Worcester County: Bolton, Charlton, Clinton, Dudley, Harvard, Leicester, West Boylston, Worcester

In addition to that ground spraying will also be taking place in New Bedford  between 2 a.m. and sunrise on Friday.

This round of spraying in New Bedford will target areas including Buttonwood Park, Brooklawn Park, Fort Taber, Hazelwood Park, Riverside Park, Clasky Common Park, Ashley Park, the Poor Farm area, Custom House Square and the downtown area.

In Rhode Island, the Department of Environmental Management said the last night of aerial application took place Tuesday in parts of Westerly, Charlestown, and Hopkinton.

WLNE-TV / ABC6 2019