Brock Holt Selected To American League All-Star Team, Xander Bogaerts Up For Final Vote

Boston Red Sox Press Release

BOSTON, MA – Red Sox infielder/outfielder Brock Holt was selected to the American League roster for Major League Baseball’s 86th All-Star Game, which will take place on Tuesday, July 14 at Great American Ball Park in Cincinnati, OH.  In addition, shortstop Xander Bogaerts can be selected as the final player on the American League’s 34-man roster via the Esurance MLB All-Star Game Final Vote.

Reserves for the American and National League teams were announced today by Major League Baseball.  Starters were announced yesterday.

This is the first career All-Star nod for Holt, who was selected as an infielder by AL manager Ned Yost.  The 27-year-old left-handed hitter is batting .295 (66-for-224) with 30 runs scored, 15 doubles, four triples, two home runs, 21 RBI, five stolen bases, and 30 walks in 66 games.  His .383 on-base percentage entered the day ranked seventh among AL players with at least 250 plate appearances, tops among Red Sox. 

For the second straight year, the utility man has made starts at every position other than pitcher and catcher, the only AL player to appear at all four infield positions as well as all three outfield positions this season.  He has 16 starts this season in right field, 14 at second base, 12 at third base, six at shortstop, six in left field, three at first base, and two in center field.  In his combined 59 starts this year, the Red Sox are 30-29, compared to 9-16 when he does not start. 

Holt becomes the first player ever to be named an All-Star after appearing at all seven of those positions (1B, 2B, 3B, SS, LF, CF, RF) prior to the All-Star break.  He is the second player to appear at each of those seven positions in an All-Star campaign, along with Ben Zobrist, who did it in 2009 with the Tampa Bay Rays (but did not play first base until September). 

During a career-high 18-game on-base streak from June 5-24, Holt made starts at all seven of those positions, including five different positions in five consecutive days beginning June 19.  He played three defensive positions in the Red Sox’ 5-1 win over the Orioles on June 24 (first base, left field, second base), eight days after becoming the first Red Sox in 19 years to hit for the cycle on June 16 against the Braves.

Acquired by the Red Sox as part of a six-player trade on December 26, 2012, Holt leads the Red Sox with a .349 on-base percentage since the start of 2014.

Bogaerts, 22, entered today ranked ninth in the AL with a .302 batting average (89-for-295), and is 25-for-66 (.379) with runners in scoring position, fourth best in the AL at the start of the day.  The right-handed batter leads AL shortstops in hits, doubles (18), RBI (37), slugging percentage (.414), times on base (106), and Wins Above Replacement (2.4 according to Baseball Reference).  Among AL shortstops, he ranks second in batting average, on-base percentage (.339), OPS (.752), extra-base hits (24), and fielding percentage (.986).  His 24 extra-base hits include three triples and three home runs.

Bogaerts has hit safely in 28 of his last 33 games beginning on May 31, and since that date owns the third-best batting average in the AL (.348, 47-for-135) with an AL-high 13 doubles (tied). 

Fans can now begin voting to select Bogaerts as the final player on the American League roster via the 2015 Esurance MLB All-Star Game Final Vote.  Votes can be cast online at or and on mobile phones.  The AL and NL winners will be announced after the voting concludes on Friday, July 10 at 4:00 p.m. ET. 

If selected, Bogaerts would be the youngest Red Sox player to earn an All-Star nod in 48 years.  He would be just the fourth Red Sox age 22 or younger ever to make an All-Star team, along with Ted Williams in 1940 (21 years old) and 1941 (22), George Scott in 1966 (22), and Tony Conigliaro in 1967 (22).  He would also become the first Aruban to make an All-Star team.

Red Sox players have won the AL Final Vote in 2002 (Johnny Damon), 2003 (Jason Varitek) and 2007 (Hideki Okajima).  Only the Chicago White Sox have had more Final Vote winners with four since the vote was instituted in 2002.