Bruins Awarded Presidents’ Trophy, Pastrnak & Goaltenders Honored


Boston Bruins Press Release

BOSTON – The NHL announced today, May 28, the 2019-20 regular season awards. The Boston Bruins were recipients of three awards – the Presidents’ Trophy, William M. Jennings Trophy and Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy.

“On behalf of the entire Boston Bruins organization, I would like to express how proud we are of our players, coaches, trainers and hockey operations staff for winning the Presidents’ Trophy,” said Bruins President Cam Neely. “From the start of the regular season, until the pause, our group was focused and determined every day when they came to work. Although the regular season did not end the way anyone hoped, we are honored to win this award for the second time in seven years.

“I would also like to congratulate David Pastrnak for winning the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy and Tuukka Rask and Jaroslav Halak for winning the William M. Jennings Trophy. David, Tuukka and Jaro each had incredible seasons, and while these awards are given to individuals, I know they would be quick to acknowledge the entire team and coaching staff for their accomplishments.”

The Bruins were named the recipients of the Presidents Trophy, awarded annually to the team with the most points at the end of the regular season. The Bruins finished the regular season with a 44-14-12 record for 100 points in 70 games, six more than the next-highest team (St. Louis Blues, 94 points in 71 games). It is the third-straight 100-point season for the club. The team’s point percentage through 70 games (.712) is higher than each of their previous two seasons (.652 in 2018-19, .683 in 2017-18). In addition to leading the league in points, the Bruins also ranked first in the NHL in wins (44), regulation wins (38) and goals allowed per game (2.39).

Tuukka Rask and Jaroslav Halak were awarded the William M. Jennings Trophy, given annually to the goaltenders who have played at least 25 games for the team with the fewest goals allowed over the course of the regular season. The pair combined to allow just 167 goals through 70 regular season games for an NHL-best average of 2.39 goals per game. The Dallas Stars ranked second behind the Bruins with 174 goals allowed through 69 games for an average of 2.52 goals per game. Rask led the NHL with a 2.12 goals against average, while Halak ranked sixth in the NHL with a 2.39 goals against average. Halak previously won the Jennings Trophy following the 2011-12 season with the St. Louis Blues. The Bruins last won the Jennings Trophy in 2008-09 with goaltenders Tim Thomas and Manny Fernandez.

David Pastrnak and Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin were named the recipients of the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy, awarded annually to the league’s leading goal scorer. Pastrnak is the first Bruin in franchise history to win the award. The 24-year-old scored a career-high 48 goals in 70 regular season games. He also tallied a career-high 47 assists for 95 points, tied for third-most in the NHL. He also led the NHL this season with 20 power play goals.

Categories: Sports