Five Brown Women Rowers Named All-America

Five Women's Rowers Earn All-America Honors; Murphy Named CRCA Assistant Coach of the Year


PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Five members of the Brown women's crew were recognized as some of the best rowers in the country by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA), while associate head coach Phoebe Murphy was named the CRCA Division I Assistant Coach of the Year.


The 2011 CRCA Pocock All- America award winners recognize the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains on the national level with the following requirements. The student-athlete must meet all eligibility rules as defined by her institution, have rowed at least 75% of the current spring season's races in the varsity boat (before and including May 17, 2011) and be nominated by her institution, while the head coach of the student-athlete's institution must be a member in good standing of the CRCA.

The nominated student-athletes are then selected to first and second teams based on the strength of finish of the institution's varsity eight within the country, coach comments and 2K ERG score.


For their efforts, seniors Tessie Allan (Swedensboro, N.J.) and Casey Kelsey (Lyme, N.H.), and sophomore Tessa Gobbo (Chesterfield, N.H.) were named All-American First Team Selections, while senior coxswain Ellie Smith (Brookline, Mass.) and junior Allison Courtin (Buffalo, N.Y.) were selected to the Selected to the Second Team).


The National Coach of they Year awards are voted on by the membership of the CRCA and are intended to recognize coaches whose teams have had outstanding success throughout the current season and who have demonstrated a high level of professionalism and integrity as a coach. The DI assistant coach of the year focuses on the coach who has had a significant impact on the performance of his/her team, has shown outstanding commitment to his/her coach and has demonstrated a high level of professionalism and integrity as a coach.


Completing her 22nd year with the Brown University women's rowing program, Coach Murphy helped lead her team to a 2011 NCAA Championship in Sacramento, Calif., this past May.  Murphy has helped lead Brown to unprecedented success, with this being Brown's seventh NCAA team championship.


2011 CRCA Pocock All America First Team Awards

Tessie Allen, Brown University
Ashton Brown, Princeton University
Olivia Coffey, Harvard University
Laura Cowel, Michigan State University
Anna Dawson, Stanford University
Emily Dreissigacker, Dartmouth College
Ivana Filipovic, University of Southern California
Tessa Gobbo, Brown University
Mary Jeghers, University of California, Berkeley
Casey Kelsey, Brown University
Kara Kohler, University of California, Berkeley
Elle Logan, Stanford University
Stephanie Madner, Yale University
Felice Mueller, University of Michigan
Kristine O'Brien, University of Virginia
Emily Reynolds, Princeton University
Erika Roddy, Stanford University
Corinna Sharick, Washington State University
Michaela Strand, Princeton University
Maria Wilgotsson, University of Southern California
Lauren Wilkinson, Princeton University
Lila Flavin, coxswain, Princeton University


2011 CRCA Pocock All America Second Team Awards

Allison Courtin, Brown University
Ulrike Denker, Ohio State University
Rebecca Donald, University of Pennsylvania
Laura D'Urso, Clemson University
Natalie Eisermann, University of Michigan
Elise Etem, University of California, Berkeley
Taylor Goetzinger, Cornell University
Alex Japhet, Duke University
Vanessa Kleiss, University of Wisconsin
Kellie Lapointe, Michigan State University
Kristina Lofman, University of California, Berkeley
Grace Luczak, Stanford University
Maureen McAuilffe, George Mason University
Caroline Nash, Yale University
Christine Roper, University of Virginia
Claudia Schiwy, Ohio State University
Veronica Townsend, Northeastern University
Jennifer Vander Maarel, University of Texas, Austin
Lenka Vrecnikova, University of Southern California
Sarah Wolff, Washington State University
Ellie Smith, coxswain, Brown University