Magic of McCoy: Four Governor’s Cup Championships

The Pawtucket Red Sox won the International League’s Governor’s Cup four times in their history: in 1973, 1984, 2012, and 2014.

Jim Rice was a Triple-A rookie in ’73 before winning the league’s Triple Crown the following year.

Steve Lyons hit the go-ahead home run in game five of the ’84 championship series, an epic comeback against the Maine Guides.

Bryce Brentz won two titles: as a rookie in ’12 and again in ’14. Brentz made a series-saving throw in game four if the ’14 championship series against the Durham Bulls.

Categories: Sports