MBTA Proposed Fare Hike-Public Meetings Scheduled

If you ride the M-B-T-A, Tuesday night is your first chance to speak out about a proposed fare hike.

The agency is holding its first two of 20 public hearings in Worcester and Newton Tuesday evening.

Transit officials say they need to raise fares as much as 43-percent to help close a more than 1-hundred-60-million dollar budget gap.

The M-B-T-A could also end commuter rail service on the weekends and ferry service in Boston Harbor.

Public Meetings Schedule:

————————

January 17, Tuesday Newton 5:30-7:30 PM Newton City Hall, War Memorial Hall 1000 Commonwealth Avenue

January 17, Tuesday Worcester 6:00-8:00 PM Public Library, Saxe Room 3 Salem Square

January 18, Wednesday Chelsea 6:00-8:00 PM Public Library, Auditorium 569 Broadway

January 19, Thursday Boston (Roxbury) 6:00-8:00 PM Roxbury Community College, Auditorium 1234 Columbus Avenue

January 23, Monday Boston 1:00-3:00 PM 4:30-6:30 PM Transportation Building, Floor 2 Conference Rooms 2, 3 10 Park Plaza

January 24, Tuesday Attleboro 4:30-8:00 PM Attleboro High School 100 Rathbun Willard Drive

January 25, Wednesday Salem 6:00-8:00 PM City Hall Annex 3rd Floor Conference Room 120 Washington St

January 31, Tuesday Boston (Mattapan) 6:00-8:00 PM Mildred Avenue Community Center 5 Mildred Avenue

February 1, Wednesday Jamaica Plain 6:00-8:00 PM Hennigan Community Center, Cafeteria 200 Heath Street

February 2, Thursday Boston (Dorchester) 1:00-3:00 PM and 6:00-8:00 PM Dorchester House Multi-Service Center, Multi-Purpose Room 1353 Dorchester Avenue

February 6, Monday Lowell 5:00-7:00 PM City Hall Council Chambers 375 Merrimack Street

February 7, Tuesday Lynn 6:00-8:00 PM City Council Chambers 3 City Hall Square

February 8, Wednesday Boston (West End) 4:30-6:30 PM Shriners Hospital Auditorium 51 Blossom Street

February 8, Wednesday Hingham 6:00-8:00 PM Town Hall Central Meeting Room 210 Central Street

February 13, Monday Boston (South Station area) 6:00-8:00 PM Boston Public Library Boston Room 700 Boylston Street

February 14, Tuesday Framingham 6:00-8:00 PM Town Hall 150 Concord Street

February 15, Wednesday Quincy 6:00-8:00 PM Thomas Crane Public Library Community Room 40 Washington Street

February 16, Thursday Malden 6:00-8:00 PM City Council Chambers 200 Pleasant Street

February 28, Tuesday Somerville 6:00-8:00 PM High School Auditorium 81 Highland Avenue

February 29, Wednesday Cambridge 6:00-8:00 PM Citywide Senior Center 806 Massachusetts Avenue

March 1, Thursday Waltham 6:00-8:00 PM Government Center Auditorium 119 School Street

March 6, Tuesday Brockton 6:00-8:00 PM Massasoit Community College, Liberal Arts Building, Lecture Hall LA 560 1 Massasoit Boulevard