Northeast Amateur Set To Return To Wannamoisett Country Club June 23

Northeast Amateur Press Release

RUMFORD, R.I. – Welcome to the 59th Northeast Amateur Invitational golf tournament!

After not playing for the first time in nearly 60 years due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we’re excited to return this year from June 23-26 at Wannamoisett Country Club. Tournament chairman Ben Tuthill has once again assembled a deep field including many of the top junior and collegiate players in the country. The field will include players from six countries and 46 different colleges and universities. Of the collegiate players set to tee it up, 20 were recently named to Division I PING AllRegion Teams.

This year’s field includes two members of the victorious U.S. Walker Cup team, Cole Hammer and Pierceson Coody of the University of Texas. Coody was named First Team All-American and will also play on the U.S. team in the Arnold Palmer Cup at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill. June 11-13th. The other Palmer Cup team members in our field this year include Dylan Menante of Pepperdine, who is fresh off helping his team to the NCAA National Championship. William Moll (Vanderbilt), Bradley Reeves (Arizona) and Trent Phillips (Georgia) will join Menante on Team USA, while Julian Perico (Arkansas/Spain) will represent the International Team.

We also have several past USGA champions in the field this year. They include the last two U.S. Junior Am champs in Preston Summerhays (Arizona State commit) and Michael Thorbjornsen of Wellesley, Mass. who just wrapped up his freshman year at Stanford. Also returning to the Northeast are former U.S. Mid-Am champ Matt Parziale and USGA Four Ball Champions Frankie Capan, Cole Hammer and Garrett Barber.

The field also features a large group of New England and Rhode Island area talent. Chris Francour of the University of Rhode Island is coming off a strong season where he earned First Team All-Region honors. John Broderick, a 17 year old from Wellesley, Mass., is the reigning New England Amateur and Junior Amateur champ. Rhode Island Player of Year Jamie Lukowicz, former RIGA and New England Am champ Bobby Leopold, former RIGA Am champs and Notre Dame standouts Davis Chatfield and Andrew O’Leary, four time RI Junior champ and Oklahoma standout Patrick Welch and Connecticut Am champ and Virginia standout Chris Fosdick are also in the field.

The Northeast Amateur begins with a Sponsor/Contestant Tournament on Tuesday, June 22. The tournament proper begins the next morning at 8 a.m. Please follow scoring updates on our web site and find daily video updates from Don Coyne and daily news articles by Dalton Balthaser at the site as well.

Categories: Sports