Ocean State Waves, Gulls, Bay Sox Players Named to NECBL All-Star Game

NECBL news release…

NORTH ADAMS, Mass. – Commissioner Sean McGrath is pleased to unveil the rosters for the 2015 New England Collegiate Baseball League (NECBL) All-Star Game, as announced Saturday afternoon by the league office.

Laconia's Nick Cenatiempo and Newport's Mike Coombs, whose teams ranked first in the North and South Division, respectively, after the Friday (July 10) cut-off date will lead their respective divisions in next weekend's showcase.

Each All-Star Team is comprised of nine slots for pitchers (starting pitcher, seven relievers, closer); a starter and two substitute catchers; a starter and substitute for the four remaining infield positions; a starter and substitute designated hitter; three starting outfielders and three reserve outfielders; and one Coach's Selection by each manager for a total of 29 players per squad.

And finally, for the first time in league history, the NECBL fan base will have the final say by means of the inaugural NECBL All-Star Game Fan Vote! Beginning on Monday (July 13) at midnight, fans may cast their vote for the final addition to the 2015 NECBL All-Star Game at vote15.necbl.com. Each team will nominate a player for a total of 12 nominees, and the top vote-getter – regardless of the division – will join the remaining All-Stars for next Sunday's affair.

The 22nd annual NECBL All-Star game will be held on Sunday, July 19th, at Historic Goodall Park in Sanford, Maine. The NECBL's Midsummer Classic will be hosted by our very own Sanford Mainers on Sunday, July 19. Join the NECBL's elite student-athletes as they take to the diamond in front of scouts from every MLB organization, as the Sanford community celebrates the 100th anniversary of historic Goodall Park, one of New England's iconic baseball backdrops.

First pitch is set for 5:05 p.m. In addition to the All-Star Game, Sunday's festivities also include a 60-yard dash and the Home Run Derby starting at approximately 12:20 p.m.

The NECBL congratulates all of its deserving student-athletes, coaches, and umpires on their outstanding summer in the league.


Starting Pitcher Tim Viehoff Laconia Southern New Hampshire
2 Dakota Edwards North Adams University of Bridgeport
3 Cody Dube Sanford Keene State
4 Casey Brown Vermont CCSU
5 Brian Goossens Valley Sienna
6 Teddy Rodliff Vermont Stonybrook
7 Iannick Remillard Sanford Canisius
8 Josh Garran North Adams Pace
Closer Zach Willeman Keene Kent State
Starter Deon Stafford Laconia St Josephs U
Reserve Ridge Smith Vermont Austin Peay
Reserve Dylan Delso Valley Oklahoma City
Starter Shane Hughes Sanford Monmouth
Reserve Victor Sorrento North Adams Sacred Heart
Starter Tom Roulis Vermont Dartmouth
Reserve Brian Mims Laconia North Carolina Wilmington
Starter Braxton Martinez Laconia St Louis University
Reserve Garret Christman Keene Butler
Starter Garret Copeland Vermont Austin Peay
Reserve Jake Lumley Valley Canisius
Starter Manny DeJesus Valley Ohio
Starter Garrett McCain Valley Oklahoma State
Starter Parker Perez North Adams Jacksonville
Reserve Brett Lashley Laconia Florida Atlantic
Reserve Chris Gaetano Sanford Monmouth
Reserve Rob Pescitelli Valley Quinnipiac
Starter Dalton Thomas Sanford Arkansas Little Rock
Reserve Cam Hanley Laconia Northeastern
Player 29 (coach selection) Carter Grote Laconia Furman


Starting Pitcher Willie Rios Mystic Schooners Maryland
2 Keven Pimental Plymouth Pilgrims Miami
3 Ryan Gray Ocean State Waves Trinity (TX)
4 Jason Foley Mystic Schooners Sacred Heart
5 Brendan Spagnuolo Newport Gulls Vanderbilt
6 Brad Wegman Newport Gulls USC
7 Michael Mertz Newport Gulls Oklahoma State
8 Charlie Dant New Bedford Bay Sox Dayton
Closer Richard Lovelady Ocean State Waves Kennesaw State
Starter Chuckie Robinson Ocean State Waves Southern Miss.
Reserve Drew Lugbauer Newport Gulls Michigan
Reserve Logan Koch Plymouth Pilgrims South Carolina
Starter Tim Lynch Ocean State Waves Southern Miss
Reserve Anthony Critelli New Bedford Bay Sox Holy Cross
Starter Shea Donlin Newport Gulls Washington State
Reserve Reed Gamache Newport Gulls Binghamton
Starter Mandy Alvarez Plymouth Pilgrims Eastern Kentucky
Reserve Rich Slenker Mystic Schooners Yale
Starter Aaron Hill Mystic Schooners UCONN
Reserve Tyler Orris New Bedford Bay Sox Millersville
Starter Brent Rooker Plymouth Pilgrims Mississippi State
Starter Joven Afenir Newport Gulls Kansas
Starter Ben Ruta Mystic Schooners Wagner
Reserve Cody Acker Danbury Westerners VCU
Reserve Jason Sullivan New Bedford Bay Sox Sacred Heart
Reserve Dylan Burdeaux Ocean State Waves Southern Miss
Starter Jon Littell Newport Gulls Oklahoma State
Reserve Ryan Blanton Ocean State Waves Georgia State
Player 29 (coach selection) Quinn Bordey Newport Stanford Cardinal

Steve Williams has been selected to serve as crew chief for the 22nd NECBL All-Star Game on Sunday, July 19th.  Williams from Quincy, Massachusetts worked the NCAA D-III regional championships this year and will be joined by his regional crew member Jeff Kinney from Gardiner, ME, highly rated Patrick Irish from North Yarmouth, ME, and former NECBL Umpire of the Year and NCAA regional umpire, Bruce James from Bow, NH.