Parcells, Law, Clayborn Finalists for Patriots Hall of Fame

Patriots news release…

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. – The New England Patriots announced that three
former Patriots have been selected as finalists for this year's
induction into the team's hall
of fame. This year's finalists (listed in alphabetical order) are
Raymond Clayborn
, cornerback Ty Law and head coach Bill Parcells.
Clayborn and Law are first-time finalists, while Parcells was a
finalist in 2011 and 2012. For Law, 2014 is the first year he was
eligible to be nominated.

Starting today, Patriots fans are encouraged to vote for the former
Patriot most deserving of hall of fame enshrinement. Fans can vote on for the next month. Voting will end on May 15, 2014 and
the Patriots will announce the 2014 Patriots Hall of Fame selection in early June.

        This year's selection will become the 22nd
person to be enshrined into the Patriots Hall of Fame. The Patriots
Hall of Fame
induction ceremony is held on the plaza just outside The Hall at
Patriot Place presented by Raytheon. The outdoor ceremony is free and
open to the public. Patriots fans of all ages are welcome and encouraged
to attend.
The date and time of this year's event will be announced at a later date.

Beginning in 2007, the Patriots started a new hall of fame tradition,
inducting one player or head coach to The Hall each year. The process
for induction now involves
a panel of media, alumni and staff, who collectively nominate the
players or head coaches most deserving of induction. After the
nominations are made, the committee votes and the top three tallies
become that year's finalists. The Patriots then give their
fans the opportunity to vote online to select each year's winner.

Earlier this month, a 20-person nomination committee met to discuss
this year's candidates for induction. Now it is up to the fans to select
this year's honoree.


        This year's finalists are listed below:




Raymond Clayborn
a three-time Pro Bowl (1983, 1985, 1986) player for the Patriots from
1977 through 1989. He joined the Patriots as a first round pick (16th
overall) out of Texas in
1977 and quickly established himself as a top-notch defensive back as
well as a superb kickoff returner. He finished his career with a
franchise-leading 36 interceptions (tied with Ty Law) for 555 yards for a
15.4 yard per interception average. His 555 interception
return yards are second in franchise history to Ty Law's 583 return
yards. Clayborn also returned 57 kickoffs for 1,538 yards and three
touchdowns. As a rookie in 1977, Clayborn returned 28 kickoffs for 869
yards and led the NFL with a 31.0-yard return average
and returned three kicks for touchdowns, both of which remain franchise
records. He is one of just 16 NFL players since the 1970 merger to
finish a season with a 30.0-yard average on kickoff returns (min. 20
returns) and is the only Patriots player to accomplish
the feat. Clayborn played a vital role in bringing the Patriots to
respectability in the late 1970s and early 1980s. During his 13 seasons
with the Patriots, he helped the Patriots to 10 winning seasons,
including four postseason berths. Clayborn intercepted
Hall of Famer Dan Marino and recorded six passes defensed to help end
an 18-game losing streak to the Miami Dolphins in the Orange Bowl in a
31-14 AFC Championship victory that lifted the Patriots to their first
Super Bowl. Clayborn was a member of the Patriots
1970s and 1980s all-decade teams.


        Ty Law
spent 10 seasons with the Patriots (1995-2004) after joining the team as a first round (23rd
overall) draft pick out of Michigan in 1995. Law was a three-time Super
Champion (XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX), a four-time Pro Bowl player (1998,
2001, 2002, 2003) and a two-time All-Pro (1998, 2003) during his tenure
with the Patriots. Law tied Raymond Clayborn's career franchise-record
with 36 interceptions and finished with the
most interception-return yards in team history with 583. His six
interceptions returned for touchdowns are also a franchise best. Law had
nine interceptions in 1998 to become the first Patriots player to lead
the NFL in that category. He was a playmaker who
played some of his best games in the postseason. He helped lead the
Patriots to their first Super Bowl title in 2001 when he intercepted a
Kurt Warner pass against the Rams and returned it 47 yards for a
touchdown for the first points of the game. In the 2003
AFC Championship Game, Law intercepted three Peyton Manning passes
while leading the Patriots to a 24-14 victory over the Indianapolis
Colts. Law was part of a record-breaking Patriots defense in 2003 that
led the NFL in five key categories: opponents points
per game (14.9), interceptions (29), fewest touchdown receptions
allowed (11), opponent's passer rating (56.2) and pass deflections (121)
as the team captured its second Super Bowl title in a win over the
Carolina Panthers. Law is a member of the NFL's all-decade
team for the 2000s as well as the Patriots' all-1990s and all-2000s
decade teams. He was also selected to the Patriots' 50th Anniversary Team.




        Bill Parcells was the head coach of
the New England Patriots for four seasons (1993-96) and led the team to
the playoffs twice. After inheriting a team that had finished 14-50 in
the previous four years, including an NFL
worst 2-14 season in 1992, he brought the clout of a two-time Super
Bowl Champion to the Patriots sidelines, infusing instant credibility in
1993. In 1994, a season-ending seven-game win streak allowed the
Patriots to clinch their first playoff berth in eight
years. The performance earned Parcells NFL Coach of the Year honors.
After finishing 6-10 in 1995, the Patriots rebounded with an 11-win
season in 1996, tying the then franchise record for wins and earning
their first division title in 10 years. After a convincing
victory over the Pittsburgh Steelers (28-3) in the divisional playoff
game in foggy Foxborough, the Patriots hosted their first AFC
Championship game and defeated the Jacksonville Jaguars, 20-6, to earn a
trip to the Super Bowl for just the second time in
franchise history. This is the third time that the Patriots Hall of
Fame Nomination Committee has nominated Bill Parcells for Patriots Hall
of Fame induction (2011, 2012 and 2014). On Feb. 2, 2013, Parcells was
voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. 
Parcells is the only coach in NFL history ever to lead
four different teams to the playoffs and three different teams to a
conference championship game. He is a member of the Patriots all-1990s


About the Patriots Hall of Fame

        The Patriots Hall of Fame was officially
formed in 1991 after John Hannah became the first Patriots player to be
inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. With the hall of fame, the
Patriots created a new way of honoring their
greatest players. It wasn't until 2008, with the opening of The Hall at
Patriot Place presented by Raytheon, that Patriots players, past and
present, truly had a place to call home that they could share with their
fans. Now, enshrinement into The Hall is an
honor befitting of the franchise's greatest players, with 30-foot video
pylons displaying each enshrinee. Beginning in 2007, fans became part
of the hall of fame tradition and active participants in the selection

This year's inductee will join 19 other Patriot greats and two
contributors as a member of the New England Patriots' Hall of Fame
(listed in alphabetical order
below with year of induction):





Bruce Armstrong (2001)

Drew Bledsoe (2011)

Troy Brown (2012)

Tedy Bruschi (2013)

Nick Buoniconti (1992)

Gino Cappelletti (1992)

Ben Coates (2008)

Sam Cunningham (2010)

Bob Dee (1993)

Steve Grogan (1995)

John Hannah (1991)

Mike Haynes (1994)

Jim Lee Hunt (1993)

Stanley Morgan (2007

Jon Morris (2011)

Jim Nance (2009)

Steve Nelson (1993)

Vito “Babe” Parilli (1993)

Andre Tippett (1999)


William H. “Billy” Sullivan, Jr. (2009)

Gil Santos (2013)