Pats Matthew Slater Given Ron Burton Award for Community Service

Patriots news release…

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. – At Tuesday evening's Patriots Premiere on the field at Gillette
Stadium, two-time team captain and two-time Pro Bowl special teamer Matthew Slater became the 11th player to receive the New England Patriots Ron Burton Community Service Award.


Chairman and CEO Robert Kraft presented Slater with the award, which is
named in honor of the late Ron Burton, the first player drafted
by the team and a community leader whose widespread charitable work was
a model for how a Patriots player can make an impact off the field.


knew the day that we drafted Matthew that he was going to be special,”
said Kraft. “He has contributed on offense, defense and is the captain
of our special teams. He is consistently one of the most active players
in the community and is always eager to volunteer. Matthew has an
engaging personality and is generous with time
to help our community.”


is entering his sixth NFL season after joining the Patriots in 2008 as a
fifth-round draft pick out of UCLA. Slater was selected as
a special teams captain by his teammates in 2011 and 2012 and was named
to the Pro Bowl as a special teams player in each of those seasons. He
led the team with 20 special teams tackles in 2012, one behind his
career-high of 21 special teams tackles in 2010.
Slater has led the Patriots in special teams tackles for the past three
seasons. During his time in the NFL, Slater has proven to be a
versatile player, seeing action at wide receiver and safety as well as
playing a major role on special teams.


immediately became one of the team's most active community
participants. In five seasons as a Patriot, he has regularly
in the team's community Tuesday events (the players' only off day each
week). Last season, he was an ambassador during the team's Celebrate
Volunteerism campaign, making visits with teammates to recognize
deserving volunteers in conjunction with each week's
volunteerism theme. Slater is a regular at school visits, participating
in the Play 60 initiatives and at each of the Patriots Holiday events.
past spring, he was one of the dozens of players to travel to Newtown,
Conn. to lead the organization's Football for You football clinic in a
town recovering from a horrible tragedy.


joins a select group of Patriots players to receive the Ron Burton
Award. Past recipients are Joe Andruzzi (2003), Troy Brown (2004),
Matt Light (2005), Jarvis Green (2006), Ty Warren (2007), Larry Izzo
(2008), Kevin Faulk (2009), Vince Wilfork (2010), Jerod Mayo (2011) and
Zoltan Mesko (2012).