PawSox Put Four Players In IL All-star Game

The 2012 International League All-Star squad is made up of 13 elected players who have received the most votes from ballots submitted by club's field managers and general managers (1/3), members of the media (1/3), and online fan voting (1/3). The elected players are joined by 17 additional All-Stars selected by the International League office. Each of the IL's fourteen clubs will be represented in Buffalo.

Two of the League's strongest clubs this season lead the way with four All-Stars on the Team. The Pawtucket Red Sox brought home a remarkable four of the roster's elected slots, including catcher Ryan Lavarnway, shortstop Pedro Ciriaco, starting pitcher Justin Germano, and designated hitter Mauro Gomez, an IL All-Star last season with Gwinnett. Charlotte, the South Division leaders, will also send four players to Buffalo. 2010 All-Star Dan Johnson returns to the event after being elected as the starting third baseman for the IL. Outfielder Greg Golson of Charlotte was also elected, and will be joined by selected catcher Josh Phegley and starting pitcher and IL ERA leader Charles Leesman from the Knights.

Fans attending the event in Buffalo will see three of their hometown Bisons represent the club as All-Stars, including IL saves leader Fernando Cabrera as an elected reliever along with selected starting pitcher Matt Harvey and outfielder Valentino Pascucci. Pascucci earned Top Star honors at the 2007 Triple-A All-Star Game playing in front of his then-hometown fans when he was a member of the Albuquerque Isotopes, and Cabrera was a 2009 IL All-Star while with Pawtucket.

The hero of last year's All-Star Game, Top Star Russ Canzler, returns as a member of the Columbus Clippers along with two elected teammates in second baseman Cord Phelps and outfielder Matt LaPorta. LaPorta was the leading vote recipient in the 2012 Online Triple-A All-Star Balloting presented by PERT® Plus. Also boasting three All- Stars are the West Division-leading Indianapolis Indians who will be sending selected infielder Jordy Mercer, outfielder Starling Marte, and pitcher Rudy Owens. The remaining elected All-Stars are first baseman Ernesto Mejia of Gwinnett, outfielder Corey Brown of Syracuse, starting pitcher Tyler Cloyd of Lehigh Valley, and relief pitcher Chris Bootcheck of Toledo.

With the International League's 3-0 victory at last year's Triple-A All-Star Game, the IL owns an 8-6 lead in the fourteen years since the event changed to the current IL vs. PCL format. The winning League this season will once again earn the right to have its champion play as the “home team” at the Gildan Triple-A National Championship Game which will take place Tuesday, September 18 in Durham, North Carolina.


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.