RISP issue 93 warnings, citations for violating cell phone driving laws

By News Staff

Email: news@abc6.com

Twitter: @ABC6

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (WLNE) – Rhode Island State Police have issued nearly 100 warnings and citations as part of a statewide anti-texting while driving campaign.

Between April 8th and April 15th, State Police stopped 813 vehicles for various infractions, issuing 93 warnings and/or citations (65 for violating the state’s hands-free cell phone law, 28 for texting while driving) as part of their “U Drive. U Text. U Pay” highway safety campaign.

State Police also issued three citations and warnings for prohibited use of earphones and headsets while driving.

 

“No phone call or text is worth the risk of injury or death,” State Police Colonel James Manni said. “We strongly encourage all motorists to put down their phones and drive safely, which will help make the roadways safer for all motorists.”

In Rhode Island, the penalties for texting while driving and violating the hands-free law are as follows:

  • Anyone found to be using a hand-held communication device while driving is subject to a fine up to $100
  • Anyone found to be texting while driving is subject to a fine of $100 and/or license suspension up to 30 days.
  • Anyone found to be using earphones, a headset, headphone or other listening device while operating a motor vehicle or bicycle is subject to a fine of $85.

©WLNE-TV / ABC6 2019