Six Ocean State Waves, Three Newport Gulls Named NECBL All Stars

Commissioner Sean McGrath is ecstatic to reveal the full rosters for the 2022 New England Collegiate Baseball League (NECBL) All-Star Game, as announced Sunday afternoon by the league office. The 2022 All-Star Game will be hosted by the Martha’s Vineyard Sharks at The Shark Tank on July 24.


Each division’s All-Star roster consists of nine pitchers (a starter, seven relievers and a closer); a starter and two substitute catchers; a starter and substitute for the four other infield positions (1B, 2B, SS, 3B); a starter and substitute at designated hitter; three starting and substitute outfielders; and one Coach’s Selection made by each manager for a total of 29 players per squad.


The NECBL All-Star Game provides a platform to showcase the league’s top talent in an exciting afternoon and evening. Players participating will be able to make their mark in front of scouts from every Major League Baseball (MLB) organization.


The 2022 NECBL All-Star festivities on July 24 at The Shark Tank begin at 2:00 p.m. with the Home Run Derby. The All-Star Game is set to start at 4:30 p.m. For more information about the All-Star game, click here.


Tickets for the event are $5 for kids, $10 for general admission and $15 for the reserved grandstand. To buy tickets, click here.


The 2022 All-Star Game and Home Run Derby will be streamed live on the NECBL Network.


The Fan Vote is Back for a Seventh Straight Season! Fans will once again have the chance to choose the final player selections of the 2022 All-Star Game rosters! Starting at midnight on Monday, July 18, fans can choose their winner from a pre-determined field of players. More information on the voting process will be available during the evening of Sunday, July 17.


The NECBL congratulates all of its deserving student-athletes and coaches on their outstanding summer in the league.


North Division Roster


The North Division consists of the Vermont Mountaineers, Sanford Mainers, Upper Valley Nighthawks, Winnipesaukee Muskrats, Keene SwampBats, North Adams SteepleCats and North Shore Navigators.


Sanford, Upper Valley and Vermont led the way with six selected players/coaches apiece. Keene (4), North Adams (3), North Shore (2) and Winnipesaukee (2) all had multiple All-Stars selected this season.


*Indicates Player Selected as Starter at Position


Coaching Staff:

Vermont Mountaineers (Manager: Mitchell Holmes)



Bryce Afthim* (Sanford, RHP, Southern Maine)

Brendan McFall (Vermont, RHP, Tufts)

Grant Besser (Keene, LHP, Florida Southwestern St)

Randy Reyes (North Adams, LHP, Central Connecticut St)

Jake Gigliotti (North Shore, RHP, Northeastern)

Matt McShane (Upper Valley, RHP, St Josephs)

Randall Alejo (Upper Valley, RHP, St Rose)

Sonny Fauci (Sanford, RHP, St Johns)

Brady Afthim (Sanford, RHP, Connecticut) – Closer



Colin Wetterau* (Keene, St Johns), Adam Dapkewicz (Sanford, Georgetown), Clay Stearns (Upper Valley, Troy)


First Base:

Jackson Ross* (Keene, FAU), Cedric Rose (North Adams, UMass Lowell)


Second Base:

Quinn McDaniel* (Sanford, Maine), Max Grant (Upper Valley, Canisius)


Third Base:

Ryan Ignoffo* (Upper Valley, Eastern Illinois), David Bermudez (Sanford, Manhattan)


Shortstop: Dan Covino* (Keene, Central Connecticut St), Tyler Cox (Vermont, Dartmouth)



Jacob Corson* (Winnipesaukee, Bucknell), Gerry Siracusa* (Vermont, UMass Lowell), Christian Mercedes* (Winnipesaukee, Southern New Hampshire), Evan Fox (Vermont, Stony Brook), Jake McElroy (North Shore, Holy Cross), Tyler Sorrentino (Upper Valley, Charleston)


Designated Hitter:

Tom Josten* (Vermont, Central Florida), Hunter Pasqualini (North Adams, Central Connecticut St)


Coach’s Choice:

Ben Williamson (Vermont, 3B, William & Mary)

South Division Roster


The South Division consists of the Bristol Blues, Newport Gulls, Martha’s Vineyard Sharks, Mystic Schooners, Ocean State Waves, Valley Blue Sox and Danbury Westerners.


Martha’s Vineyard led the Southern Division with seven All-Star selections. Mystic and Ocean State followed closely behind with six. Bristol (4), Newport (3), Danbury (2) and Valley (1) were each represented on this year’s South Division roster.


*Indicates Player Selected as Starter at Position


Coaching Staff: Bristol Blues (Manager: Tim Binkowski)



Tyler Mudd* (Ocean State, LHP, Holy Cross)

Nick Conte (Ocean State, RHP, Duke)

Reid Easterly (Mystic, LHP, Yale)

Luke Garofalo (Bristol, RHP, Central Connecticut St)

Camron Hill (Martha’s Vineyard, LHP, Georgia Tech)

Billy Oldham (Danbury, RHP, Eastern Connecticut St)

Stephen Quigley (Martha’s Vineyard, RHP, Connecticut)

Alejandro Torres (Martha’s Vineyard, RHP, Miami (FL))

Brooks Ey (Ocean State, RHP, Virginia Commonwealth) – Closer



Thomas Bramley* (Martha’s Vineyard), Addison Kopack (Mystic, U of Rhode Island), Chase Meggers (Ocean State, Oregon)


First Base:

Noah Martinez* (Newport, Central Connecticut St), Eddie Micheletti (Mystic, George Washington)


Second Base:

Jay Harry* (Bristol, Penn St), Dorian Gonzalez (Martha’s Vineyard, Miami)


Third Base:

Michael Snyder* (Martha’s Vineyard, Washington), Sam Mongelli (Danbury, Sacred Heart)



Chaz Myers* (Bristol, Pacific), Logan Allen (Mystic, Bryant)



Peter Ciuffreda* (Ocean State, Lafayette), Kevin Ferrer* (Mystic, Connecticut), Colton Ledbetter* (Newport, Samford/Mississippi St), Anthony Donofrio (Mystic, Quinnipiac), AJ Guerrero (Valley, Washington), Jake Studley (Ocean St, Connecticut)


Designated Hitter:

Slate Alford* (Newport, Mississippi St), Logan Chambers (Martha’s Vineyard, Tennessee)


Coach’s Choice:

Colin McVeigh (Bristol, RHP, Fairfield)

Categories: Sports