State’s 4 Electoral College members to vote for president

RI State House
Rhode Island State House. (WLNE)

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) — Rhode Island’s four Electoral College members are gathering Monday to cast their votes for president.

Secretary of State Nellie Gorbea said the votes will be cast at noon at the Rhode Island State House.

Only Electoral College participants will be allowed in the state House of Representatives chambers, but the event will be viewable on Capitol TV.

Rhode Island’s electors are Elizabeth Jane Beretta-Perik, a prominent Democratic donor; Central Falls Mayor James Diossa; Providence City Council President Sabina Matos and former Providence Mayor Joseph Paolino Jr.

The state has four electoral votes because each state gets two votes for its two U.S. Senators, and an additional vote for each member it has in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The state Democratic Party picked this year’s electors because Democrat Joseph Biden won November’s election with 59.4% of the vote in Rhode Island.

The presidential election is a two-step process in the U.S.

Voters nationwide cast their ballots in November. The candidates receiving the most votes generally win that state’s electoral votes and receive that number of electors in the Electoral College.

Electors from each state then gather in December to officially vote for president and vice president. The candidates who receive a majority of the 538 votes in the Electoral College win.


Categories: News, Politics, Rhode Island