Two county courthouses to temporarily close

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (WLNE) – As of Wednesday, April 1, the state courts will shut down two county courthouses in response to COVID-19.

Rhode Island Supreme Court Chief Justice Paul A. Suttell signed an executive order closing McGrath Judicial Complex in South Kingstown and the Murray Judicial Complex in Newport.

Court hearings have been significantly reduced statewide, but it is especially true in Washington and Newport counties.

Emergency and essential matters in those two counties will be heard at the Noel Judicial Complex in Warwick.

In addition Chief Justice Suttell also signed and issued a separate executive order limiting the number of personnel congregating in groups of more than five people.

The closure is an effort to conserve resources and critical supplies to reduce the pandemic.

Categories: Coronavirus, News, Rhode Island