Wade Boggs Elected To International League Hall Of Fame


Former PawSox and Red Sox 3B Wade Boggs Elected to International League Hall of Fame. 

The International League announced today that former Pawtucket Red Sox 3B Wade Boggs, former Rochester Red Wings 3B Cal Ripken, Jr., and former Columbus Clipper 1B Steve Balboni have been elected as the International League Hall of Fame Class of 2011.

Boggs will return to McCoy Stadium this season to be formally inducted into the IL Hall of Fame.  He will join late PawSox owner Ben Mondor, former PawSox manager Joe Morgan, and former outfielder Jim Rice as Pawtucket Red Sox members of the IL Hall of Fame. 

Boggs played for the PawSox in 1980 and 1981 before beginning his Major League Hall of Fame career in Boston in 1982.  In 1980 he hit .306 for the PawSox but lost the International League batting title on the final day of the season by .0007 points.  In 1981 he won the IL batting title with a .335 average.  In 266 career games with the PawSox he posted a .322 average.

Wade went on to win five American League batting titles with the Red Sox including four in a row from 1985-88.  His .338 Red Sox career average ranks 2nd only to Ted Williams (.344).  Boggs was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown in July of 2005. 

The date for Boggs' enshrinement at McCoy will be announced in the coming months.